Meet the 2020 LTEN Field Trainer Scholarship Winners

By July 31, 2020January 14th, 2021LTEN Focus On Training


Meet the 2020 LTEN Field Trainer Scholarship Winners

Field Trainer Scholarship Winners – By Tim Sosbe

Life sciences sales depends, of course, on a well-trained and well-prepared field. With so much of life sciences training revolving around field personnel, it’s important to recognize the hardworking representatives who serve on the front lines.

With that in mind, earlier this year the LTEN Field Trainer Committee – a group of life sciences training professionals who focus on field training – put together the first LTEN field training scholarship project. After sorting through applications from interested LTEN field trainers, the committee made recommendations to the LTEN Board of Directors, who awarded two scholarships for the inaugural year.

The two winners – Julie Fassel of AstraZeneca and Rosa Hanks of CooperSurgical – were originally awarded a scholarship to attend the 49th LTEN Annual Conference, but when that was canceled due to the global pandemic, the winners were instead given scholarship credits to attend LTEN events.

Rosa Hanks of CooperSurgical

Hanks, an account manager with CooperSurgical, earned her LTEN scholarship for shepherding the “Be a Star” sales training program at CooperSurgical’s Fall 2019 plan-ofaction meeting. The “Be a Star” theme was created to launch a new core visual aid and to challenge sales teams to perform with a product that has been on the market for years.

Julie Fassel of AstraZeneca

Fassel, a regional training specialist for AstraZeneca, was nominated for demonstrating training excellence, clinical acumen, peer leadership and entrepreneurship. Fassel also created and pulled through the idea of developing a nursing speaker bureau to help train and educate customers and representatives on adverse event management.

Both Hanks and Fassel are expected to attend the inaugural LTEN Connect virtual training forum, June 9-11, so be sure to look for them and congratulate them!


Tim Sosbe is editorial director for LTEN.  Email Tim at


Meet the Field Training Committee

The field resources and scholarship program were guided and created by the volunteer members of the LTEN Field Training Committee:

  • Cheryl Bucina, Bausch+Lomb
  • Amity Cutaia, Astellas
  • Jill Fenton, Quantum Learning
  • Thomas Hood, Bayer Healthcare
  • Melissa Lowe, Philips
  • Chris Platanos, Alnylam
  • Alison Quinn, Bristol-Myers Squibb (chairperson)
  • Cathy Smith, Curtis Learning
  • Jason Zeman, Bausch Health

Find additional resources for field training professionals at


About LTEN

The Life Sciences Trainers & Educators Network ( is the only global 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization specializing in meeting the needs of life sciences learning professionals. LTEN shares the knowledge of industry leaders, provides insight into new technologies, offers innovative solutions and communities of practice that grow careers and organizational capabilities. Founded in 1971, LTEN has grown to more than 3,200 individual members who work in pharmaceutical, biotech, medical device and diagnostic companies, and industry partners who support the life sciences training departments.

Leave a Reply