Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Finalists Announced for 8th Annual LTEN Excellence Awards

Roanoke, VA, April 5, 2022 – LTEN today announced the finalists for the 8th annual LTEN Excellence Awards, which recognizes innovative and inspiring work done by life sciences training professionals at pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical device and diagnostics companies (“practitioners”) and by training industry partner companies (“providers”).

The LTEN Excellence Awards winners will be announced in a special ceremony on June 15, part of the 51st LTEN Annual Conference. You can visit to reserve your space at that event, taking place June 13-16 in San Antonio, Texas. The awards ceremony will also be webcast for those LTEN members who can’t attend live.

In addition to honoring winners in eight competitive categories, the annual awards program will recognize LTEN Members of the Year in the practitioner and provider categories. Special recognition also will be given to recipients of two LTEN scholarship programs, the 3rd annual LTEN Field Trainer Scholarship and the new Chuck Pearson Learning Scholarship, named for the late LTEN Board of Directors member and good friend. Winners of both scholarship programs will receive credits to be used for LTEN educational opportunities and event attendance.

The LTEN Excellence Awards finalists were determined from another record-setting number of entries, by panels of life sciences training leaders serving as judges. The Field Trainer Scholarship program is administered by the LTEN Field Training Committee, which recommends scholarship recipients to the LTEN Board of Directors. The LTEN Board also selected the Chuck Pearson Learning Scholarship recipient from the inaugural nominees.

“This year’s list of nominees is nothing short of impressive,” said Kathleen Herndon, Ph.D., LTEN executive director. “The work was innovative, the changes were real, and the people were amazing. Our judges had an almost herculean task sorting through the large number of qualified applicants. Our winners represent some superlative work and an amazing year for our whole network.”

The finalists for the 8th Annual LTEN Excellence Awards are listed below.

The Trainers & Training Teams awards category finalists (Practitioners) are:

All-Star Teams:

  • Super NOVA Road Show Program, Astellas Pharma US
  • Excellence in Cardiac Surgery Residency & Fellowship Education, Edwards Lifesciences
  • CMG Training & Development Diversity & Inclusion Team, Genentech
  • Commercial Training & Development, Horizon Therapeutics
  • Better by Design, Tech, Video Animation Team, Smith & Nephew
  • National Field Meeting Revamp, Teva Pharmaceuticals

Emerging Leaders:

  • Desha Hagens, Amgen
  • Barbara Pattullo, Genentech
  • Jamie Lynn Zona, Teva Pharmaceuticals


  • New Hire Training – BCNBU-ISS FTMs, Amgen
  • Rise & Thrive: A Unique Learning Experience for Bayer’s Leaders, Bayer
  • Employee Learning Experience, Merck
  • C-Suite Selling Transformation, Philips
  • Agile Sales Training, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals
  • Using Technology to Build Personalised Healthcare Capability, Roche

Non-Commercial Training Efficiency:

  • Christine McSherry & Mindy Leffler, Casimir
  • CMG Training & Development Portfolio Management Team, Genentech
  • Manufacturing Workforce & Learning Systems Playbook, Merck

Training for Change:

  • New Competency Model Unites Legacy L&D Teams During Merger, AbbVie
  • Global Commercial Learning Team, Biogen
  • BioMarin Pharmaceutical
  • Bristol Myers Squibb Partnership, Bristol Myers Squibb
  • Merz Elevate, Merz Therapeutics
  • Stop, Collaborate and Listen, Philips
  • Phased Sales Academy & New to Pharma Curriculum, Teva Pharmaceuticals

The Industry Partner awards category finalists (Providers) are:

Industry Partnership:

  • Barco & Nipro
  • Encompass Communications and Learning & Teva Pharmaceuticals
  • ETU & Merck
  • IC Axon & GlaxoSmithKline
  • Red Nucleus & Adaptive Biotechnologies


  • Actando
  • Attensi
  • CMR Institute
  • ERS (Educational Resource Systems)
  • Illuminate
  • Proficient Learning
  • TiER1 Performance

Learning Content:

  • Ashfield Excellence Academy
  • Attensi
  • Axiom
  • Encompass Communications and Learning
  • Illuminate
  • OPEN Health Learning & Development

The winners of the 2022 field trainer scholarships are:

  • Heather Anderson, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals
  • Tony Gaulke, Bristol Myers Squibb

The recipients of the 2022 Chuck Pearson scholarships are:

  • Todd Rogers, Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited
  • Vishal Shah, Biogen

A number of LTEN resources are available at to help you familiarize yourself with the LTEN Excellence Awards, including:

  • Links to previous winners
  • Links to poster sessions spotlighting winners and finalists
  • LTEN Focus on Training magazine issues highlighting award winners and finalists
  • Links to information on the LTEN Field Training Scholarships, presented in conjunction with the LTEN Excellence Awards


The Life Sciences Trainers & Educators Network ( is the only global 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization specializing in meeting the needs of life sciences learning professionals.  LTEN shares the knowledge of industry leaders, provides insight into new technologies, offers innovative solutions and communities of practice that grow careers and organizational capabilities. Founded in 1971, LTEN has grown to more than 2,800 individual members who work in pharmaceutical, biotech, medical device and diagnostic companies, and industry partners who support the life sciences training departments.


For more information contact Nannette Nolan, LTEN director of marketing communications, at

Life Sciences Trainers & Educators Network

About Life Sciences Trainers & Educators Network

The Life Sciences Trainers & Educators Network ( is the only global 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization specializing in meeting the needs of life sciences learning professionals.

Leave a Reply