Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

LTEN Excellence Awards: Recognizing Success

By July 31, 2020January 14th, 2021Focus On Training

LTEN Excellence Awards: Recognizing Success

Excellence Awards – By Tim Sosbe

Training typically is about recognizing others – their potential, their successes and their drive. Sometimes, though, it’s good to stop and pat the backs that deserve it, including those who are tasked with the development of others. That recognition is what drives the annual LTEN Excellence Awards.

Winners of the 6th annual LTEN Excellence Awards will be celebrated at the first-ever
LTEN Connect event, with the ceremony taking place on Wednesday, June 10. This year’s awards spotlight learning leaders in 10 categories, including one new honor.

The Non-Commercial Training Efficiency award will be presented as a special honor this year, recognizing the good work done on the noncommercial side of life sciences training (such as training for clinical, research and manufacturing roles).

The full list of categories covers both primary market (practitioners) and supplier partners (providers):

  • Member of the Year (Practitioner)
  • Member of the Year (Provider)
  • All-Star Teams (Practitioner)
  • Emerging Leaders (Practitioner)
  • Industry Partnership (Provider)
  • Innovation (Practitioner)
  • Innovation (Provider)
  • Learning Content (Provider)
  • Non-Commercial Training Efficiency (Practitioner)
  • Training for Change (Practitioner)

Finalists in all categories have been invited to submit information about nominated training programs and people at this year’s Poster Session. The posters will be on display throughout LTEN Connect and beyond, so attendees can review them prior to the award ceremony or check back as desired.


Tim Sosbe is editorial director for LTEN. Email Tim at


LTEN Excellence Awards Judges

With so many memorable entries this year, our LTEN Excellence Awards judges had the difficult task of finding the best and brightest in a sea of success. Thanks to all the judges who helped select the finalists and winners of this year’s honors:

  • Greg Adamson, Philips
  • Richard Baron, Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals
  • Ashley Bentley
  • Bill Beyer, Life Science Training Institute (LSTI)
  • David Brin, Abbott
  • Laura Chiocchi, Sun Pharma
  • William Coble, Ultragenyx
  • Kathryn Collins, AmerisourceBergen
  • Vicki Colman, LEO Pharma
  • Amity Cutaia, Astellas
  • Joseph DeLosa, Pfizer
  • Peter Dzwoncyk, Bausch Health
  • Renee Ferreri, Teva Pharmaceuticals
  • David Fortanbary, UCB
  • Thomas Hood, Bayer
  • Ozgu Kilic, AmgenMatthew Krasnowiecki
  • Kowa Pharmaceuticals America
  • Alisha Leistner, Lilly
  • Melissa Lowe, Philips
  • Bill Magagna, Siemens Healthineers
  • Michael McGrath, Celgene
  • Daron Moore, Greenway Health
  • Connie Murray, B. Braun Medical
  • Jennifer Muszik, Biogen
  • Mark Osborne, Novartis
  • Jim Page, Sandoz
  • Nisha Patel, Teva
  • Chuck Pearson, Astellas
  • Norma Piggott, Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited
  • Chris Platanos, Alnylam
  • Alison Quinn, Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • Ted Riley, Pharmacyclics, an AbbVie Company
  • Greg Sapnar, Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • John Sjovall, SK Life Science
  • Dan Skoubye, Intra-Cellular Therapies
  • Pam Stalgren, GlaxoSmithKline
  • Karen Steinhilber, Medtronic
  • Christopher Straw, Chiesi USA
  • Megan Sullivan, Sobi North America
  • Jeffrey Taylor, Harmony Biosciences
  • Amy Tremblay, Sarepta Therapeutics
  • Jennifer Tursic, AstraZeneca
  • Christine Vaccola, Sanofi
  • Cleon Wellington, Midmark
  • Carol Wells, Genentech
  • Ranieka Weston, United Therapeutics Corporation
  • Jason Zeman, Bausch Health

Meet the 2020 LTEN Excellence Awards Finalists

Finalists have been announced for the 6th annual LTEN Excellence Awards, and the stage is set for the June 9 ceremony during the LTEN Connect virtual learning forum. Please join us and support your LTEN colleagues as we honor the innovative and creative work that powers workforce education.

The finalists for the 6th annual LTEN Excellence Awards are:

All-Star Teams:

  • Abbott
  • Amgen
  • Baxter International
  • Novartis
  • SK Life Science
  • Sysmex America

Emerging Leaders:

  • Jerad Abbott, AbbVie
  • Richard “Brad” Rzendzian, Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson
    & Johnson
  • Amanda Harris, Johnson & Johnson Medical Device
  • Andria Cox, Sanofi
  • Tiffani Higgins, Teva Pharmaceuticals

Practitioners Innovation:

  • Gilbert Marchany III, AbbVie
  • John Broadwell, Biohaven
  • Tara Leahy, Daiichi-Sankyo, & Vernon Watt, AstraZeneca (co-finalists)
  • Lauren Griffey, Jazz Pharmaceuticals
  • Katrina Church, Merz North America
  • Sarah Pinson, UCB

Non-Commercial Training Efficiency:

  • Kelly Rebmann, Sanofi Pasteur

Training for Change:

  • Barbara Pattullo, Genentech
  • Missy Lay, Grifols
  • Sandoz Team, Sandoz
    Terah Benjamin, Takeda Pharmaceuticals
    Commercial Training & Development Team, Teva Pharmaceuticals

Industry Partnership:

  • ACTO with Axiom and AstraZeneca
  • IC Axon, a Division of GP Strategies with Novartis
  • Proficient Learning with Chiesi USA
  • Scrimmage with Sunovion Pharmaceuticals
  • Unboxed Training & Technology with GlaxoSmithKline

Providers Innovation:

  • AdMed
  • CMR Institute
  • Matrix Achievement
  • Scrimmage
  • ScienceMedia

Learning Content:

  • Axiom
  • IC Axon, a Division of GP Strategies
  • Illuminate
  • Maestro
  • Tipping Point Media



About LTEN

The Life Sciences Trainers & Educators Network ( is the only global 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization specializing in meeting the needs of life sciences learning professionals. LTEN shares the knowledge of industry leaders, provides insight into new technologies, offers innovative solutions and communities of practice that grow careers and organizational capabilities. Founded in 1971, LTEN has grown to more than 3,200 individual members who work in pharmaceutical, biotech, medical device and diagnostic companies, and industry partners who support the life sciences training departments.

Leave a Reply